William McAdams Outstanding Service Award

The McAdams Award is presented annually by the ABHP for significant contributions toward the advancement of professionalism in Health Physics and to the Certification process. More information is available on the award and its recipients on the ABHP page.

Nominees shall be CHPs who have served the health physics community through outstanding and extended work on the ABHP Examination Panels, ABHP Board, AAHP Continuing Education Committee, AAHP Executive Committee, other AAHP committees, teaching or other assistance in increasing knowledge of HPs, or other areas that enhance the professionalism of health physics. This award may be bestowed posthumously. 

Joyce P. Davis Memorial Award

The Davis Award is an AAHP award given in memory and honor of Joyce P. Davis in recognition of her dedication to the advancement of health physics and her humanitarian efforts to uphold the ethics of the profession. The recipient of this award demonstrates these extraordinary qualities exemplified by Joyce P. Davis, distinguishing themselves for excellence in professional achievement as well as being a champion of ethical behavior.

Those eligible for the award must be:

  1. a member of AAHP for at least 10 years;
  2. a demonstrated champion of professional standards and ethics, and;
  3. recognized for exemplary professional practice of health physics.

 The award will be presented at the AAHP Awards Luncheon during the annual Health Physics Society Annual Meeting.

Previous winners include:

    John J. Kelly, 2002
    James E. Tarpinian, 2004
    Carol D. Berger, 2006
    Howard W. Dickson, 2008
    Frazier L. Bronson, 2010
    Bryce Rich, 2014
    John Frazier, 2016
    Charles Roessler, 2018
    Dennis Quinn, 2019
    Douglas Minnema, 2020
    Charles "Gus" Potter, 2021
    Samuel L. Baker, 2022

    James P. Tarzia, 2023

Nancy K. Johnson National Service Award

This award is presented in honor of Nancy K. Johnson to individuals who have provided exceptional service to the Academy during the immediate Past President's term of office.

Previous winners include:

    Nancy Johnson, 2008
    E. Scott Medling, 2009
    Dan Strom, 2010
    Kyle Kleinhans, 2011
    Sandra J. Brereton, 2012
    Dan Mantooth, 2013
    James S. Willison, 2015
    Timothy Taulbee, 2017
    James Nunn, 2022

    Andy Miller, 2023

Bill Fitzgerald Service Award

The ABHP is excited to announce the new ABHP Bill Fitzgerald Service Award. This award may be made annually by the ABHP to honor an Active or Emeritus Certified Health Physicist who has provided exceptional service to the ABHP during the immediate previous Chair's term of office. This award may be bestowed posthumously.

Previous winners include:

    Bill Fitzgerald, 2023

Distinguished Members

AAHP's distinguished membership honors the extraordinary achievements of active, emeritus and inactive CHPs in health physics.

These exceptional professionals have inspired excellence, serving as role models for future generations while creating a lasting impact in the field.

In the June 2023 CHP Corner, AAHP President Carolyn MacKenzie announced in inaugural class of Distinguished Members:

I am pleased to announce the 2023 Distinguished Member Awardees. This honorary title in AAHP is given with the full privileges of being an active member and a lifetime membership free of annual dues. This is a new award established by the AAHP. The recipients are nominated by a committee of the AAHP current and past two presidents and the ABHP current and past two chairs. The unanimously agreed upon nominees are then confirmed by the AAHP Executive Committee and the ABHP committee. Nominees are selected based on their outstanding contributions to the AAHP/ABHP and the health physics profession for a period of at least 20 years while maintaining the integrity and ethical standards of our profession as a certified health physicist. They are:


Frazier Bronson
Dr. George Chabot
Dr. Ken Kase
Professor Kim Kearfott
Kent Lambert
Ruth McBurney
Kathryn Pryor
Dr. Kenneth Skrable
Dr. Richard Toohey
Dr. Paul Ziemer